Bad food gone good

I’m far too mentally all over the place in this moment for this post to have any direction…so we’ll call this more of a stream of consciousness. This week I have come across three recipes (one that almost broke me) that I wanted to share with you.

The other night, I stumbled upon a recipe for “cauliflower pizza crust” and decided to try it out. Now, this isn’t a new concept and I have found a variety of different recipes, some that use different techniques, but I opted for this one (from hungry happens):

2.5 cups grated cauliflower – heat for 5-7 minutes in microwave until softened. Remove and store in fridge until cooled
mix together:
1 large egg
1 cup grated mozzarella
2 tbsp. grated Parmesan
1 tsp. fresh basil
1 tsp. dried oregano
Salt and Pepper

Once the cauliflower is cooled, mix with other ingredients and spread out on a parchment lined pan
Bake at 425 degrees for 15-20 minutes, add sauce and toppings and bake for another 5-10!

Image

The recipe was fairly painless to execute, and to be honest, because of all the cheese in the “crust”, I didn’t put as much cheese on the actual pizza as I would have normally. Also, I ate the whole thing. No shame.

Speaking of food bad food gone good, I introduce Beanitos:

Image

Beanitos are a brand of bean chips that come in both the black and pinto variety (there may even be others). They’re mainly found in bulk food stores (my johnvince and bulk barn carry them). I’ve probably gone through three bags in the past few weeks.  It wasn’t love at first sight with these babies; there is definitely a period of acclimating to the taste. At first I didn’t know if I loved them but I never stopped eating them and now I LOVE them. Pathetic moment: I went over to my closest bulk store to get some chipotle ones for a friend…they were out, but I could swear there was another display so I walked almost all over the store and couldn’t find them. I got a different flavour, came home and shut my door on the bag of chips. So i decided to go to a different bulk store a bit further away to find the Chipotle flavour. Drove all the way over there in rush hour, realized I left my wallet at home, drove home, got wallet, drove back (in more rush hour), bought 5 bags. The cashier asked me what had happened because she overheard me cursing the world when I realized that I had to go home.

Speaking of more bad food gone good, I came across a recipe for natural “twix” bars (from fitspo_eden on instagram).  Now those that knew me back in the day would know my love for twix bars. I didn’t buy a lot of chocolate bars but when I did it was usually twix. This recipe nearly killed me…not to sound dramatic, but I don’t think I’ve ever been so stressed out from baking. Shockingly it was the easiest part of the recipe that tripped me up. I also made an emergency grocery run half way through, after running out of dates and peanut butter. Anyways, this recipe is divided into 3 parts:

The Biscuit Base:
preheat oven to 350
Mix Dry ingredients:
3/4 cup Spelt
1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/4 cup desiccated unsweetened coconut (don’t worry if you don’t like coconut, it’s not that noticeable)
Mix Wet ingredients:
2 tbsp. melted butter
1 tsp. vanilla extract
1 egg
1/4 cup dark agave syrup (or substitutions)
mix wet into dry and spoon into logs (0.5 cm thick) on parchment and bake for 17 minutes

The Filling:
1 and 1/4 cup of well packed pitted dates (Soak in boiled water for 10 minutes, drain (makes it easier to blend))
2 tbsp. natural peanut butter (or nut butter)
1 tsp. chia seeds
5.5 tbsp. coconut oil
blend until smooth, generously spoon onto biscuit base and set in freezer until firm

Chocolate:
This was the train wreck. The recipe given tasted extremely bitter and at the time the thought of wasting more agave wasn’t appealing. I decided to go with the icing from the brownie (3 tbsp maple syrup, 3 tbsp cocoa powder, 6 tbsp coconut oil). When I made it, somehow something went amiss in the blender and my blender was legitimately smoking, and it looked like the chocolate cooked. I don’t know what happened. Anways, the third time was the charm, but because I doubled the recipe, I ended up having to triple the chocolate part so there would be enough for all the bars. Pour the chocolate over the bars and return them to the fridge until firm and ready to eat.  These were a HUGE success…I was almost surprised (I hadn’t really tasted them before giving them away). This is also the only photo.
Image

Side note: I have two easy snack ideas to share. The first is a quick smoothie recipe that is super delicious. Blend a banana, a few strawberries, and frozen wild blueberries, and a splash of juice (I used pineapple). It is amazing. My new favourite.

                                                                                                                       The second: cut up some strawberries- melt a tablespoon of nutella in the microwave-drizzle over-and add 1/2 a crushed rice cake-so good.

        Image

Because I felt weird not baking for Valentine’s day, I whipped up this gem late thursday night. It was also a miracle that it worked out because I couldn’t decipher the bagged ingredients in my cupboard since I don’t label them (lesson learned).

Strawberry Banana Bread (from feelgoodfoodie on instagram):

Mix Dry Ingredients:
1 3/4 cup oat flour
1 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/4 cup brown sugar

Mix Wet Ingredients:
3 over ripe bananas (tip: to quickly over-ripen a banana, bake in oven for 30 minutes, in the peel, flipping half way through, let cool and voila. This will not work on unripe bananas. Also it smells like crap at first, but it does the trick)
1 egg
1 tsp. vanilla extract
1/2 cup greek yogurt
1 cup diced strawberries

Combine wet into dry, mix well, pour into greased loaf pan. Bake at 350 until toothpick is clean. That was around 40-45 minutes for me.
Image

And yes, I am far too lazy to cut hearts into each strawberry…

Happy Long Weekend!

Leave a Reply

