Truth Time.

First of all, this blog has received 300+ views as of today!  This makes me super excited, and well, thank you all so much for reading! Secondly, sorry for the lack of posts last week…I do try to post on a weekly basis, but sometimes time flies.  

So, as the title of this blog dictates, it’s truth time. Let’s get real for a second:  Yesterday was a really bad day.  I know we all have bad days and indulge a little too much, but I’m warning you…this wasn’t a little too much…this was excessive.  A friend and I visited the H.G. of greasy pizza.  There happened to be specials.  We each ordered a pizza (medium). I may have got stuffed crust (drool). And finally, I may have eaten 5 of the 8 pieces.  That would have been enough of an indulgence, but I went home and ate another even though I was feeling all sorts of disgusting on the inside.  Dinner that night, I kept to just vegetables, fresh green juice, and chicken.  Things were looking up.  Then I decided that I needed to finish the box so I wouldn’t have to face it in the morning. So yes, everyone…it happened. I take pride in indulging in Pizza Hut once a year, so nothing like getting it out of the way 26 days in! *sarcasm*  

Because of the Sunday of Shame, I have resolved to wear my fitbit daily. I got this thing as a motivator and the best part of it is the little computer face that sticks its tongue at you when it thinks you’re being pathetically lazy.  The thing has been sitting beside my bed and instead of the tongue it just looks at me, judging (this is the face: -_-) As if it knows about my Pizza Hut binge. The fitbit measures calories burned, steps taken, and kilometres walked. It syncs with your iPhone, Android, or computer. There are tons of these on the market and I do really find them motivating. I am also forcing myself to go to the gym for the next four days (I had been going 3 times a week, but pulled a muscle in my leg so I have been holed up watching The Good Wife up until the weekend).  I’ve also found shopping to be a great way to add some extra walking in; I even got lost in hell today…I mean IKEA, which added many steps on my fitbit (Today, the face was smiling at me…progress people). 

As per the last couple weeks, I have been finding more and more healthier baking recipes. I have three that I want to share (I apologize for the lack of personal photos, but my foodstagramming was blurry this week..but I assure, all three recipe outcomes looked like the photos):

First, from lexiscleankitchen.com, Double Chocolate Chunk Macadamia Nut Cookies (click for recipe). I substituted the chocolate chips for butterscotch chips and skor bits. 
Image

 

Second, Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies, from hungryhappens.tumblr.com 

Image

1.5 cups gluten free flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp sea salt
1 cup raw unsalted peanut butter
3/4 cup maple syrup
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 cup dairy free chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 F.
Mix the dry ingredients in one bowl and the wet in another.
Then combine all together. Might have to use your hands to fully incorporate all of the flour into the dough.
Lastly, fold in the chocolate chips.
Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper and form cookie shape. These DO NOT spread, so you don’t have to leave a lot of space in between.
Bake for 12 minutes.

(I used dark chocolate that I chopped).

Lastly, Black Forest Muffins (again from hungryhappens.tumblr.com (Great Blog)). 
Image

3/4 cup butternut squash
1 cup almond butter
1 egg, beaten
1/3 cup maple syrup (or honey)
1 tsp baking soda
3 tbs cacao powder (or cocoa)
1/2 cup dried cherries
optional mini chocolate chips for muffin tops
coconut oil or spray for muffin pan or muffin cups

Preheat oven to 325 F.

Combine the squash, almond butter, egg, syrup, baking soda and cacao. Then fold in the cherries.
Spray or grease your muffin pan with coconut oil. Scoop the batter in and sprinkle tops with desired choc chips.

Bake for 30 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean. Make sure to watch them at the end – you don’t want to leave them in too long.

Yields 24 mini muffins or 12 regular.

I’ve really been enjoying baking because giving it away is almost as fun as baking itself. Today, one of the guys at my work wanted me to know that he had washed some of the dishes from the desserts I brought in, and that he fully encouraged my recipe testings so he could reap the rewards. I promised there would be a new batch this week….vegan red velvet cupcakes with coconut cream frosting and pumpkin quinoa cookies…I’ll let you know how it goes 😉

Happy Eating!

 

Carolyn

Leave a Reply

