BROWNIES

I may or may not be writing this from my bed, on my phone, while watching the hockey game; so I apologize for any glaring errors (damn autocorrect). In the interest of full disclosure, I have spent the past two nights holed up watching games with no shame. I may only get up for intermissions but I did kill myself at the gym yesterday so hopefully it evens out. The past week has been super motivating…I ended last week with a 2.5 ish weight loss, and a slew of new recipes. I had this post already planned out until I discovered 2 really great recipes, neither of which I can take credit for their discovery.

I have two great recipes to share with you for the best all natural brownies. The first recipe is the home run brownie…being that it is topped with a rich fudge icing. The second is such an easy recipe to recreate and bite-sized at that.

1) Fudge Brownies

I honestly believe that the food gods delivered this first recipe to me to teach me that healthy desserts can actually be delicious. Not only that, but this recipe has made me stretch my horizons and try out new ingredients. I usually spend my lunch time at the cemetery (where I work in the warmer months) visiting friends. I had mentioned that perhaps I would bake (because let’s be real…baking with sugar and butter and chocolate feels amazing even if you aren’t going to eat it) and one of the guys suggested I find a healthy dessert to bring in. I laughed and tried to convince him that the cold weather warranted a little indulgence. Cut to 15 minutes later…my friend offered me a brownie (my one weakness in life (just kidding…one of many)) and after I relished in the taste of the rich chocolate, she informed me that they were healthy. Whoever came up with this recipe deserves a damn trophy.

20140115-221028.jpg

My friend so brilliantly combined two recipes and here they are:
*The first is from fitness_recipes on Instagram, for the actual brownie:
Wet ingredients:
Combine
1 banana (the riper, the moister)
1/3 cup all natural peanut butter
1/3 cup maple syrup
1 egg
1 tbsp honey.

Dry ingredients:
1/3 cup of oat flour ****
1/3 cup cocoa powder
1 tsp baking powder

Combine and place in greased (coconut oil) 8×7 (I used 9×9) pan. Bake at 350 degrees for 15-17 minutes

Icing:

I made 1.5 the amount but here is the original from hungryfoodies on Instagram:
Blend:
3 tbsp cocoa powder
3 tbsp maple syrup
1/5 tsp vanilla extract
Pinch of salt
6 tbsp of coconut oil. (I melted it slightly)

Pour on top of cooled brownies and let set!

****i blended up oats and it worked perfectly. I did also use coconut flour one other time and it was a tragedy. This brownie lover had to throw out her brownies. I told you– fucking tragedy.

These were honestly such a big success…and they were very well received at home, and even at work!

2) No-Bake Brownie Balls

Image

This recipe was tweaked from one that I had seen on lexiscleankitchen.com. I didn’t have the highest hopes for this recipe but I was pleasantly surprised.

Super easy recipe:

1 cup Medjool dates, pitted
1/3 cup of raw walnuts
3 tbsp cocoa powder
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 tbsp almond milk (unsweetened)

combine in food processor, roll into balls, coat in unsweetened shredded coconut and refrigerate.

This was my first foray into the using dates in my baking and it was a success…they were all eaten within two hours (k…not only by me).

Happy Baking!!

Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

