One Healthy Recipe–One Not So Healthy

I can officially say Christmas is around the corner as I stumbled upon this bad boy hiding out in the freezer:

Image

 

Seriously people. If any of you feel like you should indulge..or having a crappy day…DO IT. This might be my favourite ice cream of all time. That said, I’m super proud of myself because my current cold is forcing me to stay far away from dairy…so I’ve been sticking with my peanut butter-banana “ice cream” instead. 

Anyways, a week ago I was scrolling through my instagram feed when I stumbled upon this: 

Image

hungryhappens.tumblr.com

 

 

 

Recipe: from hungryhappens.tumblr.com

“Sweet potato sloppy joes ..on an Ezekiel bun with sliced avocado

Ingredients:

🔹1 lb ground beef or turkey
🔹5 scallions, chopped (or any onion)
🔹2 tsp coconut oil (or any oil)
🔹1.5 tsp cumin
🔹2 tsp chile powder
🔹3 small sweet potatoes, peeled & finely cubed
🔹1 small yellow bell pepper, chopped
🔹1 large beefsteak tomato, diced
🔹2 tsp tomato paste
🔹1 jalapeño, minced
🔹2 cloves garlic, minced
🔹1/2 cup chicken stock (or water)

In a large skillet on medium high, heat 1 tsp oil and cook the sweet potato and bell pepper for about 8 minutes, until tender – season with salt and pepper – to taste. 
Remove and place in a bowl and set aside.

In the same pan, heat the the remainder 1 tsp oil, adding in the onion and garlic. Sauté for a few minutes, then add the meat…using a wooden spoon to break it up and cook it until no longer pink. 
Next, stir in cumin, chili powder and salt and pepper to taste. 
Add in the tomato, tomato paste, jalapeño and chicken stock. Bring to a boil and reduce heat to medium low. Allow to simmer for 10 mins (stir occasionally). Add in the sweet potato and toss to combine.

Yields 5-6 servings.”

*I used flat hamburger buns instead of the Ezekiel bun. And I added a very small sprinkling of sharp cheddar.

The next recipe I have for you is one that, I believe, you will use over and over and over again. I made 3 of these within a couple days when I first found out about it. While this isn’t “healthy” it’s better than other alternatives, and let’s just face it..it’s delicious. 

I give you–the easiest crusty bread you’ll ever make:

Image

The recipe:

3 cups unbleached all purpose flour
1 3/4 teaspoons salt
1/2 teaspoon Instant or Rapid-rise yeast
1 1/2 cups water
 
In a large mixing bowl, whisk together flour, salt and yeast.  Add water and mix until a shaggy mixture forms.  Cover bowl with plastic wrap and set aside for 12 – 18 hours.  Overnight works great.  Heat oven to 450 degrees.  When the oven has reached 450 degrees place a cast iron pot with a lid in the oven and heat the pot for 30 minutes.  Meanwhile, pour dough onto a heavily floured surface and shape into a ball.  Cover with plastic wrap and let set while the pot is heating.  Remove hot pot from the oven and drop in the dough.  Cover and return to oven for 30 minutes.  After 30 minutes remove the lid and bake an additional 15 minutes.  Remove bread from oven and place on a cooling rack to cool. 

 http://www.simplysogood.com/2010/03/crusty-bread.html

Personally, I have tried the plain, the cheddar bread, and the lemon, rosemary, gruyere version. The website has tons of variations on it and you can add whatever you want to it as well. This is the most foolproof recipe ever and is quite impressive looking if you ask me!

 

Happy Holidays!

 

Carolyn

Leave a Reply

