time for a smoothie!

Perhaps it’s because I’ve been held up in my house with a cold (better now than next week), but my mind has been set on getting the most nutrients in to fight off this bastard. I must begin by saying that this cold was definitely an act of Karma; not a week ago was I saying to my friend (who was sick) “Oh I haven’t gotten sick in a while”…famous last words, I know. Don’t be fooled: karma is a bitch. I was really proud of myself on Friday: I shopped downtown, went straight to the gym, and finished off my day completing every item on my to-do list.  Anyways, I spent most of Saturday morning looking up recipes and methods to fight the common cold and well let’s just say one of them wasn’t pretty. For those that are brave, combining 1 tsp of honey and 1/4 tsp of cinnamon and eating it 3-4 times a day will banish that cold in a matter of a couple days.  I was able to last 30 seconds before spitting it out…Back to square one. On Saturday and Sunday, I visited my local juice bar for their beet-ginger-orange-carrot juice. It was really good…minus the 6.80 dollar price tag for a small…but if you have a juicer, I highly recommend the combo. In order to save myself some money I reverted back to my smoothie making ways…(biggest ramble)

Incase some of you are a little lost in the smoothie department (what to put in etc.) you can really do no wrong. Personally I am a big fan of adding greens to my smoothies…mostly baby kale or baby spinach…because once you add some bold-flavored fruits to it, you can’t even taste them.  Here are two that I made recently:

*The recipes have no amounts because I usually just toss things in and see what happens

Image

Green Smoothie:

Kale-green grapes-banana-frozen peach-almond milk-orange

Image

Berry Smoothie:

Raspberries-blueberries-blackberries-baby kale-pomegranate seeds-splash of cranberry juice

    I know a lot of people like to have a recipe to follow when trying out new things, but with smoothies you can’t go wrong…throw whatever in and if it doesn’t taste good, add something else!

Here is an actual recipe that I found, and the smoothie tastes REALLY good.

2 cups almond milk (or any milk)–2 tbsp. honey–1 banana–1 orange (peeled)–1/2 cup raspberries (fresh or frozen)–5 strawberries (fresh or frozen)–3 cups spinach–2 cups ice cubes (from blendtec.com).

    I encourage all of you smoothie lovers or not to go experiment with some recipes. Keep in mind you can always use frozen fruits in lieu of ice and you can use yogurt (plain, greek, flavoured), peanut butter, avocado, oats, seeds (I use chia a lot), herbs (parsley), ginger, or really anything you think would satisfy your taste buds!

Happy Blending!

Carolyn

Leave a Reply

