Some Sweet Finds!

While I pride myself on being the girl who can have just one chip, my self-control folds somewhere within the first bite of dessert. I absolutely love dessert, and bonus if there’s chocolate in it. I have taken it upon myself to search for somewhat healthier substitutes to some of my favourites.

When I say I have no control with dessert, I truly mean it. Three confessions come to mind…just so you know how big of a problem this is (I really have no shame):

1. The christmas baking that my mom makes gets put in the freezer until ready for the holiday season.  I may or may not visit said freezer multiple times a week or day to pull out a frozen treat or a couple…awkward when she pulls them out to serve and there are gaps in each container.

2. Years ago, a tub of homemade icing sat in our fridge for a while, and my brother and I made it a ritual to bring a spoon down to the basement and devour almost the whole tub. Safe to say we were caught…despite both of us denying any knowledge that the container even existed. We probably blamed our dad for it…better him than us getting in trouble.

3. The only thing I have to say here is DO NOT look in the depths of our couch in the basement, you never know what you’ll find. Both my brother and I took to hiding everything and anything under, behind, or in the couch.  At times there would be a box of cookies under the couch, empty, wrappers from chocolate bars or rice crispy squares stuffed in between the cushions. You should be happy to know that this kind of event hasn’t taken place in recent years.

Bonus: Dunkaroos were banned in my house after a fight broke out between my brother and I over a pack. One of us locked ourselves in the bathroom…trust me, I’m sure the fight was worth it. I mean who ever came up with the combo of icing and cookies was a true genius.

I have two recipes to share that come close in flavour to the evil, fat-laden desserts that I often salivate over.

The first is one that I tried for the first time, yesterday.

who doesn’t love the combo of peanut butter and banana? It’s almost as sacred as the relationship between PB&J.

Try this:

purée 3/4 cup of frozen (coined) bananas with 1 tbsp. of natural peanut butter (or any nut butter). My bananas were probably a bit too frozen for the blender, but it ended up working with a blend stick. This amount works well for 1 ish servings.

it will look something like this:

 

 

 

 

 

 

I got the recipe from http://www.twopeasandtheirpod.com/two-ingredient-banana-peanut-butter-ice-cream/

Seriously people. Do It.

Moving on…Another one of my favourites can just be summed up in one word chocolate

I may or may not have a Large Ziploc bag within arms reach of dark chocolate squares for when I’m feeling extra special…it’s O.k. Dr. Oz said it was good for you…

This next recipe had me feeling a little skeptical. Avocado Chocolate Pudding.

Anyone that knows me well, knows how I worship at the feet of Guacamole. I’m the sucker who pays the extra 509435 dollars to add Avocado to every dish. Recently Subway stopped carrying their guacamole and I have never been back. It really is a deal breaker. That said, the recipe for Avocado Chocolate Pudding left me feeling concerned for how this dish might ruin either staple for me. I took the risk.

The recipe is so simple, and with the help of a blender, can be accomplished in a matter of a couple minutes. I got the recipe from fearless homemaker.

1 ripe avocado, peeled + quartered
1/4 cup cocoa powder
1/4 cup raw agave nectar
1/4 cup almond milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

blend all ingredients until smooth

http://www.fearlesshomemaker.com/2013/05/chocolate-avocado-pudding/

If you don’t have agave nectar, honey works, and skim milk/nut milk can work as well.

Forgive my lack of presentation but this was what the pudding looked like after I made it…I did top it with fresh pears and bananas.

Avocado Chocolate Pudding

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It really tastes like you’re eating your daily caloric intake in one bowl.

Recipes like these have honestly made it so much easier to turn away from old faithfuls. I urge you all to go indulge your sweet-tooth with both of these delectable concoctions!

Carolyn

Leave a Reply

